Locus Online


Locus Awards


2000 Archives





Sunday 2 July 2000

Locus Awards Winners

The 2000 Locus Awards were presented at a banquet Sunday evening, July 2, at Westercon in Honolulu, Hawaii. Winners received plaques, and publishers of the winning works received certificates. Dan Simmons, Gardner Dozois, and Tom Doherty were on hand to accept their honors.

Locus Awards winners
Back row, left to right: Tom Doherty, Tappan King (accepting for Frank M. Robinson), Jennifer Brehl (accepting for Robert Silverberg), Gardner Dozois, Jerry Oltion (accepting for Kim Stanley Robinson), Howard V. Hendrix (accepting for S.T. Joshi); middle row: Beth Meacham (accepting for Stephen Baxter), Larry Niven (accepting for Greg Egan), David G. Hartwell (accepting for Terry Bisson and Paul Levinson), Kathy Oltion (presenter), Grania Davis (accepting for J.K. Rowling), Dan Simmons; front row: Charles N. Brown (who accepted for Michael Whelan), George R.R. Martin (toastmaster); not in photo: Jennifer Hershey (who accepted for Neal Stephenson)

The Locus Awards are given to the winners of the annual Locus Poll. Complete results of the poll will appear in the August issue.

Best Science Fiction Novel
Cryptonomicon, Neal Stephenson (Avon)

Best Fantasy Novel
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, J.K. Rowling (Bloomsbury; Scholastic/Arthur A. Levine)

Best First Novel
The Silk Code, Paul Levinson (Tor)

Best Novella
''Orphans of the Helix'', Dan Simmons (Far Horizons)

Best Novelette [tie]
''Huddle'', Stephen Baxter (F&SF May 1999)
''Border Guards'', Greg Egan (Interzone Oct 1999)

Best Short Story
''macs'', Terry Bisson (F&SF Oct/Nov 1999)

Best Non-Fiction Book
Sixty Years of Arkham House, S.T. Joshi (Arkham House)

Best Art Book
Science Fiction of the Twentieth Century, Frank M. Robinson (Collectors Press)

Best Collection
The Martians, Kim Stanley Robinson (HarperCollins Voyager; Bantam Spectra)

Best Anthology
Far Horizons, Robert Silverberg, ed. (Avon)

Best Artist
Michael Whelan

Best Editor
Gardner Dozois

Best Magazine

Best Book Publisher

© 2000 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.