The Website of The Magazine of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field
Locus Online
Sub Menu contents
The Magazine

Locus Awards 2015 Ad

June 26-28, 2015 in Seattle, Washington
Connie Willis M.C. Connie Willis

Attending memberships are currently $50 and include all Locus events except the Writers Workshop – including readings, a kickoff party hosted by Clarion West (the first of their six summer parties honoring 2015 instructors), panels with leading authors, an autograph session, the lunch banquet, and the annual Hawai'ian shirt contest judged by the fabulous Connie Willis, who will MC the ceremony and present the Locus Awards, with news about more associated events to follow!

Locus Awards attending and supporting memberships also include a set six-month digital subscription to Locus magazine, from our February 2015 issue (our Year-in-Review issue with Recommended Reading List and Poll & Survey) to August 2015 (with the Locus Awards photo coverage and writeup) and everything in between. (Member subscription is non-transferable and does not affect or extend existing subscriptions.)

Nancy Kress and Jack Skillingstead Nancy Kress & Jack Skillingstead

Supporting memberships are $27 and include the six-month set subscription. Supporting memberships purchased before the price change on May 1 can upgrade at any time (until the event is sold out) to full membership for $13; purchased after May 1, the upgrade will be $23.

Neil Gaiman, Maria Dahvana Headley, Tim Minchin Neil Gaiman, Maria Dahvana Headley, Tim Minchin

Locus Awards events will be held at the Best Western Executive Inn at 200 Taylor Avenue North, Seattle WA 98109, directly across the street from the Seattle Center, home to the SF Museum and the Experience Music Project, with excellent access to the light rail and trolley systems. Special room rates for the Locus Awards are $142 per night for one or two people, with $15.00 charged per additional adult. These rates will be available from Thursday, June 25 through Sunday, June 28. For hotel reservations, call the general number at 1(800) 351-9444 and mention the "Science Fiction Awards 2015". Please make hotel reservations by May 15, 2015 in order to secure the special room rate. If you need to book additional days, please e-mail Locus or call us at (510) 339-9196 and we will try to arrange it for you.

Connie Willis, James Patrick Kelly Connie Willis and James Patrick Kelly signing books
Sally Harding, Karen Lord Sally Harding, Karen Lord
Ted Chiang, Mary Robinette Kowal Ted Chiang, Mary Robinette Kowal
Usman Malik, Nicole Idar Usman Malik, Nicole Idar
Locus Writers Workshop

In addition, the Locus Writers Workshop will be taking place the same weekend with instructors Connie Willis and Daryl Gregory. More details to follow - check back here! Click here to sign up for the workshop. Additional fees apply and workshop registration is limited.

Connie Willis and Christopher Barzak Connie Willis and Christopher Barzak teach 2014's workshop class

Locus Awards Schedule

Friday, June 26

7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.: Readings by Connie Willis and Daryl Gregory .

8:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.: Party hosted by Clarion West, for Clarion supporters, Awards Weekend tickets holders, past CW instructors, alumni, volunteers, and students, in honor of first-week instructor Andy Duncan.

Saturday, June 27

10:00 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.: "Tapdancing on the Gravestones: Writing Dark Topics With a Light Touch" panel with Beth Cato, Andy Duncan, Daryl Gregory (m), Jack Skillingstead, and Connie Willis.

11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.: "Weird Is the New Normal: How Tech Transforms Society, and Vice Versa" panel with Karen Burnham, Sally Wiener Grotta, Eileen Gunn (m), Ted Kosmatka, and Ramez Naam.

12:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m.: Autographing session with books available for purchase thanks to University Book Store. Signers include Jason V Brock, Beth Cato, Adam Christopher, Andy Duncan, Daryl Gregory, Sally Wiener Grotta, Eileen Gunn, James Gunn, S.T. Joshi, Ted Kosmatka, David D. Levine, Julie McGalliard, Ramez Naam, William F. Nolan, John Picacio, Nisi Shawl, Jack Skillingstead, Patrick Swenson, Bruce Taylor, and Connie Willis.

12:45 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.: Locus Awards Lunch Banquet and Ceremony plus SF&F Hall of Fame Presentation at the Best Western Executive Inn with M.C. Connie Willis, who will present the awards and judge the annual Hawai'ian Shirt Contest.

8:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.: Locus Party!

Schedule is subject to change without notice. Don't forget to wear your most outlandish Hawai'ian shirt to the Locus Awards!

Hawai'ian shirt contest Hawai'ian shirt contest
Locus Panel with Kress, Le Guin, Wolfe, Williams, Willis Panel with Nancy Kress, Ursula K. Le Guin, Gary K. Wolfe, Walter Jon Williams, and Connie Willis
Christopher Barzak, Terry Bisson, Karen Joy Fowler Christopher Barzak, Terry Bisson, Karen Joy Fowler
Photo by Leslie Howle


CONFIRMED GUEST LIST as of June 23, 2015

Olivia Ahl
John Berry
Caroline Bobanick
Sonja A Bock
Kathy Bond
Doug Booze
Pat Booze
Keyan Bowes
Michael Braff
Klee Bragger
Jason V Brock
Sunni Brock
Gerald Brom
Karen Burnham
Erik Carson
Beth Cato
Curtis Chen
Ted Chiang
Margaret Chiavetta
Adam Christopher
Brandie Coonis
Julie Coryell
Richard Counsil
Linda Deneroff
Andy Duncan
Elizabeth Edwards
Phyllis Eide
Russell Ervin
Micaiah Huw Evans
Patty Garcia
Don Glover
Vicki Glover
David M Gordon
Liz Gorinsky
Neile Graham
Daryl Gregory
Roberta Gregory
Sally Wiener Grotta
Eileen Gunn
Sally Harding
Randy Henderson
Kathryn Hoppe
Leslie Howle
Christy Johnson
Garrett Johnston
S.T. Joshi
Keffy Kehrli
Justin Key
Margaret Killjoy
Robert Klaehn
Ted Kosmatka
Marc Laidlaw
Bronwyn Lake
Jonathan Lasser
Laura Lasser
Anaea Lay
David D. Levine
Jeffrey Lemkin

Marci Malinowycz
Seelye Martin
Karl Mazurak
Tod McCoy
Julie McGalliard
Kris Millering
Monidipa Mondal
Coral Moore
Tegan Moore
Francesca Myman
Ramez Naam
Christine Neulieb
Molly Nixon
Ngwah-Mbo Nkweti
William F. Nolan
Raven Oak
Brooks Peck
Evan J. Peterson
John Picacio
Dinesh Pulandram
Fleetwood Robbins
Greg Sardo
Vicki Saunders
Michael Sebastian
Jill Seidenstein
Nibedita Sen
Nisi Shawl
Janna Silverstein
Andrew Siguenza
Cate R Siguenza
Giannina Silverman
Linda Simpson
Emily Skaftun
Jack Skillingstead
Arley Sorg
Janine A. Southard
J. Stone
Misha Stone
Catherine Sullivan
Patrick Swenson
Bruce Taylor
Matsuura Thersa
Daniel Trefethen
Liza Groen Trombi
Zoltán Velkei
T Vining
Leo Vladimirsky
Marlo Weaver
Dean Wells
Julia Wetherell
Tim Whitthome
Duane Wilkins
Connie Willis
William Wolfe
Mark Wood
Caroline Yoachim
Kate Yule
Julie Zetterberg


Norwescon is the Pacific Northwest's Premier Fantasy and Science Fiction Convention and one of the largest regional Science Fiction and Fantasy conventions in the United States, next held March 24-27, 2016 at SeaTac WA. More details about Norwescon can be found at

Thanks to Leslie Howle for her additional assistance and sponsorship of the Locus Awards events.


© 2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.