The Website of The Magazine of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field
Locus Online
Sub Menu contents
The Magazine

Locus Awards 2016 Ad

June 24-26, 2016 in Seattle, Washington
Connie Willis M.C. Connie Willis

Attending memberships are $55, and include all Locus events except the Writers Workshop – including readings, a kickoff party hosted by Clarion West for Paul Park (the first of their six summer parties honoring 2016 instructors), panels with leading authors, an autograph session, the lunch banquet, and the annual Hawai'ian shirt contest judged by the fabulous Connie Willis, who will MC the ceremony and present the Locus Awards, with news about more associated events to follow!

Locus Awards attending and supporting memberships also include a set six-month digital subscription to Locus magazine, from our February 2016 issue (our Year-in-Review issue with Recommended Reading List and Poll & Survey) to August 2016 (with the Locus Awards photo coverage and writeup) and everything in between. (Member subscription is non-transferable and does not affect or extend existing subscriptions.)

Nancy Kress and Jack Skillingstead Nancy Kress & Jack Skillingstead

Supporting memberships are $27 and include the six-month set subscription. Supporting memberships purchased before the price change on May 1 can upgrade at any time (until the event is sold out) to full membership for $18; purchased after May 1, the upgrade will be $28.

Neil Gaiman, Maria Dahvana Headley, Tim Minchin Neil Gaiman, Maria Dahvana Headley, Tim Minchin

Locus Awards events will be held at the Best Western Executive Inn at 200 Taylor Avenue North, Seattle WA 98109, directly across the street from the Seattle Center, home to the SF Museum and the Experience Music Project, with excellent access to the light rail and trolley systems. Special room rates for the Locus Awards are $147 per night for one or two people, with $15.00 charged per additional adult. These rates will be available from Thursday, June 23 through Sunday, June 26. For hotel reservations, call the general number at 1(800) 351-9444 and mention the "Science Fiction Awards 2016". Please make hotel reservations by May 23, 2016 in order to secure the special room rate.If you need to book additional days, please e-mail Locus or call us at (510) 339-9196 and we will try to arrange it for you.

Connie Willis, James Patrick Kelly Connie Willis and James Patrick Kelly signing books
Sally Harding, Karen Lord Sally Harding, Karen Lord
Ted Chiang, Mary Robinette Kowal Ted Chiang, Mary Robinette Kowal
Usman Malik, Nicole Idar Usman Malik, Nicole Idar
Locus Writers Workshop

In addition, the Locus Writers Workshop will be taking place the same weekend with instructors Connie Willis and Stephen Graham Jones. Click here to sign up for the workshop. Additional fees apply and workshop registration is limited.

Connie Willis and Daryl Gregory Connie Willis and Daryl Gregory teach 2015's workshop class


Locus Awards Schedule

Friday, June 24

7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.: Readings with Connie Willis and Stephen Graham Jones.

8:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.: Party hosted by Clarion West, for Clarion supporters, Awards Weekend tickets holders, past CW instructors, alumni, volunteers, and students, in honor of first-week instructor Paul Park.

Saturday, June 25

10:00 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.: "How Much Tradition Do You Need to Write SF?" Panel with Greg Bear, Nancy Kress, David D. Levine, Cat Rambo(m), Connie Willis.

11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.: "We Are Legion: Promoting Various Voices Through Editing and Reviewing" Panel with Nick Mamatas, Sylvia Moreno-Garcia, Nisi Shawl, Masumi Washington, and Gary K. Wolfe(m).

11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.: "Donut Salon: Full-Time Writing, the Dream" Sit and chat with Nancy Kress, Jack Skillingstead, Daryl Gregory(m), and Adam Rakunas about managing writing and life, and the many paths to the dream gig, full-time writing. Also, donuts!

12:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m.: Autographing session with books available for purchase thanks to University Book Store. Signers include Karen Anderson, Greg Bear, Simone Caroti, Eva L. Elasigue, Stephen Graham Jones, Daryl Gregory, Eileen Gunn, Randy Henderson, Nancy Kress, David D. Levine, Nick Mamatas, Julie McGalliard, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Raven Oak, Paul Park, Malcolm R. Phifer, Michael C. Phifer, Adam Rakunas, Matt Ruff, Nisi Shawl, Julia Sidorova, Jack Skillingstead, Patrick Swenson, Bruce Taylor, Masumi Washington, Connie Willis, Gary K. Wolfe, Caroline Yoachim, and others TBA.

12:45 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.: Locus Awards Lunch Banquet and Ceremony at the Best Western Executive Inn with M.C. Connie Willis, who will present the awards and judge the annual Hawai'ian Shirt Contest.

8:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.: Locus Party!

Schedule is subject to change without notice. Don't forget to wear your most outlandish Hawai'ian shirt to the Locus Awards!

Hawai'ian shirt contest Hawai'ian shirt contest
Locus Panel with Kress, Le Guin, Wolfe, Williams, Willis Panel with Nancy Kress, Ursula K. Le Guin, Gary K. Wolfe, Walter Jon Williams, and Connie Willis
Christopher Barzak, Terry Bisson, Karen Joy Fowler Christopher Barzak, Terry Bisson, Karen Joy Fowler
Photo by Leslie Howle


CONFIRMED GUEST LIST as of June 21, 2016

Olivia Ahl
Taimur Ahmad
Laurel Amberdine
Karen Anderson
Elizabeth N. Aoki
Liz Argall
Elizabeth Bartmess
Astrid Anderson Bear
Greg Bear
John Berry
T. Jane Berry
Folly Blaine
Bob Blough
Katharine Bond
Doug Booze
Pat Booze
Keyan Bowes
Gene Breshears
Elinor Busby
Octavia Cade
Simone Caroti
Paul M. Carpentier
Erik Carson
Margaret Chiavetta
Gary Clark
Shelly Rae Clift
Julie E. Coryell
June Cotton
John G. Cramer
Pauline Cramer
Peter Crozier
Linda Deneroff
Jessica Eanes
Eva L. Elasigue
Micaiah Huw Evans
Alex Filipowicz
Jess Flarity
Nick Fowler
Manny Frishberg
Don Glover
Vicki Glover
Maura Glynn-Thami
Lisa Gold
Neile Graham
Lora Gray
Daryl Gregory
Roberta Gregory
Eileen Gunn
Lee Hallison
Stacie Hanes
Jackie Hatton
David Haugen
Terri Haugen
C.A. Hawksmoor
Randy Henderson
Kathryn Hoppe
Leslie Howle
Langley Hyde
Lindsey S. Johnson
Stephen Graham Jones
Sharon Joss
Karen Junker
Jerry Kaufman
Keffy Kehrli
Brent Kellmer
Elise Kreinbring
Nancy Kress
Iori Kusano
Jonathan Lasser
Laura Lasser
David D. Levine

Jeff Lewis
Brent Longstaff
Adrienne Loska
S. Qiouyi Lu
Scott James Magner
Marci Malinowycz
Nick Mamatas
Seelye Martin
Tod McCoy
Julie McGalliard
Beth Meacham
Mary Mellott
Barbara Melton
Coral Moore
Tegan Moore
Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Francesca Myman
Gunnar Norskog
Raven Oak
Emma Osborne
Paul Park
Josh Pearce
Brooks Peck
Malcolm R. Phifer
Michael C. Phifer
Barbara Pickering
Adam Rakunas
Cat Rambo
Shiv Ramdas
Allan Rousselle
Doug Rudoff
Matt Ruff
Greg Sardo
Vicki Saunders
Julie Zetterberg Sardo
Jill Seidenstein
Mitchell Shanklin
Nisi Shawl
Julia Sidorova
Frederick Siem
Jessica Silbaugh-Cowdin
Janna Silverstein
Linda Simpson
Jack Skillingstead
Arley Sorg
Misha Stone
Caren Gussoff Sumption
Patrick Swenson
Bruce Taylor
Gabriel Teodros
Suzanne Tompkins
Daniel Trefethen
Liza Groen Trombi
Cadwell Turnbull
Chrysoula Tzevalas
Katherine Wagner
Masumi Washington
Eric Weber
Jacob Weisman
Dean Wells
Tom Whitmore
Duane Wilkins
Lisa Willcott
Stephen Willcott
Connie Willis
Amy Wolf
Gary K. Wolfe
Mark Wood
Caroline Yoachim
Michael Yust



Norwescon is the Pacific Northwest's Premier Fantasy and Science Fiction Convention and one of the largest regional Science Fiction and Fantasy conventions in the United States, next held April 13-16, 2017 at SeaTac WA. More details about Norwescon can be found at

Arisia is New England's largest and most diverse science fiction and fantasy convention, next held January 13-16, 2017 in Boston, MA. More details about Arisia can be found at

Thanks to Leslie Howle for her additional assistance and sponsorship of the Locus Awards events.


© 2016 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.